MEA Council

The Association’s statute provides that the affairs of the Association shall be conducted by a Council composed as follows: –

  • Eight persons elected at the Annual General Meeting from and by the general Membership in accordance with procedures laid down in Article 10 of this Statute, provided that no Member may occupy more than one seat in this category.
  • One representative of each constituted Sector Group elected by the members of the relative Group in accordance with procedures laid down in Article 11 of this Statute, provided that no Member may occupy more than one seat in this category.
  • The immediate Past President; (ex-officio Senior Vice-President).
  • An Honorary President, if so appointed in terms of clause 7.2 of this Statute.
  • No Member may occupy more than one seat on the Council; provided that this clause shall not apply to those persons appointed in terms of clause 8.1.4 of this Statute.


The election of a new Council is held every two years.  The elections will be held by the end of March during the Annual General Meeting of that year.

The candidates elected will hold office for a period of two years until the next elections.

All members who are entitled to vote at a General meeting have the right to vote at such election, and also to propose or to second a Member or his appointed representative for election.

The MEA’s 58th Annual General Meeting was held on 16th March 2023.  The following representatives were elected to serve for the 2023-25 term.

Members of the Council for year 2023-2025

Presidency Team


Joanne Bondin  

Honorary President

Arthur Muscat  

Senior Vice-President

Dolores Sammut Bonnici   

Deputy President

Ivan Refalo  

Hon Treasurer

Stephen L Muscat  

Hon Secretary

Jackie Attard Montalto  


Claire Briffa  
Martin Vella  
Norman Mifsud  

General members

David Perotti  
Jackie Attard Montalto  
Joanne Bondin  
Jonathan Ferrito  
Josette Cutajar  
Michael Pace Ross  
Stephen L Muscat  

Sector Group Members


Banking, Insurance and Financial Services

Norman Mifsud


Claire Briffa

Construction, Electrical, Engineering and Metal

Martin Vella


Maronna Filletti


Stefania Curmi 

Manufacturing Industry

Ivan Refalo

Hospitality, Tourism and Travel

Norbert Grixti 

Aviation, Maritime and Transport

Matthew Ellul Sullivan

Wholesale, Retail and other Commercial Services

Marvic Fenech Adami 

Parastatal and Government Authorities

Lawrence Mizzi 

Health and Professional Services

Dolores Sammut Bonnici


Chris Mallia   
David Brockdorff  
Mario Duca  
Stephanie Borg