MEA Council

The Association's statute provides that the affairs of the Association shall be conducted by a Council composed as follows: -

  • Eight persons elected at the Annual General Meeting from and by the general Membership in accordance with procedures laid down in Article 10 of this Statute, provided that no Member may occupy more than one seat in this category.
  • One representative of each constituted Sector Group elected by the members of the relative Group in accordance with procedures laid down in Article 11 of this Statute, provided that no Member may occupy more than one seat in this category.
  • The immediate Past President; (ex-officio Senior Vice-President).
  • An Honorary President, if so appointed in terms of clause 7.2 of this Statute.
  • No Member may occupy more than one seat on the Council; provided that this clause shall not apply to those persons appointed in terms of clause 8.1.4 of this Statute.


The election of a new Council is held every two years.  The elections will be held by the end of March during the Annual General Meeting of that year.

The candidates elected will hold office for a period of two years until the next elections.

All members who are entitled to vote at a General meeting have the right to vote at such election, and also to propose or to second a Member or his appointed representative for election.

Members of the Presidency Team for year 2017-2019

Dolores Sammut Bonnici 

Arthur Muscat
Vice President

Stephen L Muscat
Deputy President

Maronna Filletti 
Deputy President

Matthew Ellul Sullivan
Hon. Treasurer

Norman Mifsud 
Hon. Secretary 

Martin Vella 


Members of the Council for year 2017-2019

David Brockdorff 

Dollsy Darmanin

Joseph Delia 

Gillian De Gaetano 
Representing the Educational Services Sector

Mario Ellul

Matthew Ellul Sullivan
representing the Aviation, Maritime & Transport Sector

Karen Farrugia
representing the Banking, Insurance & Financial Services Sector

Pierre Fava 
representing the Wholesale, Retail & other Commercial Services Sector

Marvic Fenech Adami 

Jonathan Ferrito

Maronna Filletti 
representing the ICT & Gaming Sector

Chris Mallia

John Mansueto
representing the Hospitality, Tourism & Travel Sector

Michael Mifsud 
Representing the Manufacturing Industry Sector

Norman Mifsud 

Lawrence Mizzi 
Representing the Parastatal & Government Authorities Sector

Stephen L. Muscat 

Ivan Refalo 

Doris Sammut Bonnici 
Representing the Health & Professional Services Sector

Martin Vella
representing the Construction, Electrical, Engineering & Metal Sector